Member's Area
Home    Worship Times    Ministries    Preschool    Events    Calendar    About Us    Contact Us
   
 

About Us

VUMC is located in the charming little village of Vicksburg. In 1832 Methodist Circuit Riders arrived in the area. The Schoolcraft Charge was created in 1840, and Vicksburg became a "station". Worship Services began in Vicksburg, itself, in 1843. They met in a schoolhouse or in the ballroom of the Finley House. Church members began the original structure of the church building in 1869, constructed of hand hewn beams with a barn frame design. The completed building was dedicated in 1870 with a huge celebration. A feature of the celebration was John Schlamb, who stood on his head on the steeple of the new building!

The Building

Our church is listed as a Registered National Landmark. Particularly notable are the beautiful stained glass windows. The Florentine windows in the chancel choir loft were installed in the 1925 renovation. The Heman Baker Memorial window in the Northeast corner of the sanctuary was installed during the 1984 renovation. it was originally in the Congregational Church across the street and was donated to VUMC by the Yaple family after is was discovered in a barn that was about to be destroyed. The Communion Window high in the East sanctuary was made by Dr. Millard Roberts in 1984. In 1990, Dr. Roberts made the stunning "Resurrection Window" in the west wall facing Main St. The art work for the windows was done primarily by Mike Hardy and included some other church members as well. All of these people were/are local church members and we are blessed to have been able to use their talents to beautify our building.

In the bell tower, they also constructed and placed the "Gethsemane Windows". The bell tower carillon was installed around 1974 as a memorial to Lyle Bartlett. It marks the hour and plays traditional hymns daily. The original steeple was removed many years ago because of some insurance problems and was never replaced. The tower remains in its original location and, in early years, it also provided the entry doors to the sanctuary. The current entry was part of the 1925 renovation.

Renovations

The sidewalks around the church, which are possibly the first sidewalks in the village, were added in 1884. The bell in the current bell tower, was installed in 1887. In 1897, the church became the first building in the village to have electric lights and the first with a furnace in 1889. The original structure has changed many times, with major renovations in 1902, 1925, 1958, 1984, and 2005.

... ...
Plug In
to One of Our Ministries

   Prayer
   Missions
   Youth
   Heart & Hands Preschool
   Small Groups

... ...
   
... ...
  Events and Activities

   Calendar
   Bulletins & Sermons
   Monthly Newsletter

 
... ...
   
... ...
  Join Us

   Worship Times & Info
   About Us
   Contact Us/Find Us
   Staff Directory
   Committee Directory

 
... ...

 
 
Event Calendar
Find out all that's happening at VUMC

  Heart & Hands Preschool for 3 and 4 year olds

  VUMC Mentor Program one child one hour, one church one school

Copyright © 2013